Connect with us

New Senate President Ahmed Lawan Sworn In


New Senate President Ahmed Lawan Sworn In

Senator Ahmed Lawan has been sworn in as the President of the ninth Senate by the Clerk of the National Assembly, Mohammed Sani-Omolori.




This followed Lawan’s defeat of Senator Ali Ndume by 79 votes to 28 in an election that saw 107 senators vote.

Sani-Omolori administered the Oaths of Allegiance and Office to Lawan before he assumed the seat of the Senate President.

“You now have a seating Senate President. I can no longer hit the gavel,” Sani-Omolori told the senators-elect.

With his election, Ahmad is now to oversee the election of other principal officers of the ninth Senate.

But of special interest is the election of the Deputy Senate President.

As at press time, voting is on-going in a fierce contest between Senators-elect Ovie Omo-Agege (Delta Central) and Ike Ekweremadu (Enugu West).




Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in News

Advertise with us

Trending on theINFOnerds

Follow us on Facebook

Subscribe to theINFOnerds

Video Quad

Latest Music

To Top