The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) announced late on Monday, March 23, 2020 that three of the new cases were recorded in Lagos, and one in the Federal Capital Territory.

“Two of these cases are returning travellers,” the NCDC announced.

The 40 cases have been recorded in six states – Lagos (28), FCT (7), Ogun (2), Ekiti (1), Oyo (1), and Edo (1).